Surgery Update

My surgery was yesterday. When I was recovering, the doctor told Mike I had a large 3 cm (1.18 inches) tear in my labrum. He said he could imagine that it was extremely painful. The tear was much larger than it looked on the MRI because it takes slice images of the body and only got a partial picture.

I woke up in a lot of pain but IV dilaudid took care of that in a snap. They said I could spend the night in the hospital, but I just wanted to go home and hug and kiss the boys and my parents. It was also 24 hours since I’d had anything to eat due to my surgery being in the afternoon.  I knew dad had made his spicy kale soup and that was totally worth leaving the hospital, too!

The doctor said the surgery went very well. It was arthroscopic and he only had to make two cuts and put in three screws. He reiterated that I’ll be running in August. Not only is this doctor amazing in the technical aspect of surgery, but he also has a great personality and connects with you.  He remembered how important running is to me and included that comment right away.

Thank you for all the support and prayers. It means so much! I’m blessed to have you in my life and that this story has a happy ending.

 

Leave a Reply

